April 11, 2018

Political Contributions: Know Your Limits by Spencer Ritchie

In Mississippi, every year is an election year. This election year, however, is shaping up to be one of the most memorable in the state in decades. Many Mississippians will seek to play an active part in these elections by contributing to campaigns and political parties. Such contributions are subject to federal and state campaign finance laws. Below is a summary of major restrictions….

March 27, 2018

Charles Abbott and Melissa Fuller Guest Lecture at LSU Law School

On March 26, 2018, New Orleans attorneys Charles Abbott and Melissa Fuller were guest lecturers for LSU Law School’s Toxic Torts class.  In addition to addressing emerging mass torts, Mr. Abbott and Ms. Fuller provided the second and third year law students with a historical overview of asbestos, benzene and silica litigation, and taught practical aspects and current trends in the litigation of these cases in Louisiana and across the country.

March 21, 2018

2017 Pro Bono and Civic Engagement Annual Report

Click the image below to review the firm’s 2017 Pro Bono and Civic Engagement Annual Report and special thanks to our 2017/2018 Committee members: Alison O’Neal McMinn, Mimi Arthur, Courtney Hunt, Erin Latuso, Vernon McFarland, and Mitch McGuffey.

March 9, 2018

Charles Abbott and Chelsea Gaudin Guest Lecture at LSU Law School

On March 7, 2018, New Orleans attorneys Charles Abbott and Chelsea Gaudin guest lectured at LSU Law School.  Teaching both second year and third year law students in the Toxic Torts class, Mr. Abbott and Ms. Gaudin provided practical experiences and advice related to various topics and issues, including but not limited to causation, expert witnesses, and Daubert challenges of expert witnesses. This is Mr. Abbott’s sixth year guest lecturing in the Toxic Tort class at LSU Law School.

February 8, 2018

Gault and Smith Argue Wrongful Death Products Liability Case Before the Texas Supreme Court

Win Gault and Peyton Smith argued before the Texas Supreme Court on Wednesday on behalf of Mahindra USA Inc. Sharon Garner assisted in the briefing. This wrongful death products liability case presented the Texas Supreme Court with the first opportunity to address the 2015 amendments to the Texas Residency Exception in the Forum Non Conveniens statute.

February 6, 2018

Malissa Wilson Honored by Mississippi Business Journal as a Leader in Law

Forman Watkins & Krutz LLP is proud to announce that Malissa Wilson was selected as one of the 2017’s Top Ten Leaders in Law by the Mississippi Business Journal. Each year, the Mississippi Business Journal recognizes a select group of 40 attorneys who exhibit both the legal success and the qualities of character that exemplify this honor. A reception and awards celebration was held in December to recognize the 2017 honorees.

January 24, 2018

Employment Law Update: Workplace Sexual Harassment – January 2018

In the wake of recent sexual misconduct allegations against numerous public figures, the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)—the agency responsible for enforcing federal laws prohibiting workplace harassment—has reported a deluge of visits to its sexual harassment website. And the National Women’s Law Center—an organization that disseminates information about the legal definition of harassment and how to file charges with the EEOC—has seen a five-fold increase in the number of calls about sexual harassment. Many expect this increased awareness of improper sexual behavior will lead to a dramatic increase in the number of workplace sexual harassment claims.

January 9, 2018

Giallourakis & McMinn Recognized by Portico Magazine as 2018 Portico 10 Honorees

Forman Watkins & Krutz LLP congratulates Jackson Partners, Nick Giallourakis and Alison O’Neal McMinn, for being honored by Portico Magazine as 2018 Portico 10 Attorneys. The PORTICO 10 is a group of up-and-coming attorneys in the Jackson area nominated by local firms, past honorees and members of the community before being chosen by a panel of local judges. Each member of the PORTICO 10 has a long list of accomplishments and rewards to compliment their extensive background in leadership.

December 27, 2017

Louisiana Super Lawyers Announced for 2018

Forman Watkins & Krutz LLP congratulates firm attorneys for being named as 2018 Louisiana Super Lawyers. Each year, no more than five percent of the lawyers in the state are selected by the research team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor.  Super Lawyers, a Thomson Reuters business, is a rating service of outstanding lawyers from more than 70 practice areas who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement. The annual selections are made using a patented multiphase process that includes a statewide survey of lawyers, an independent research evaluation of candidates and peer reviews by practice area. The firm is proud to announce Super Lawyer Charles H. Abbott and Rising Stars: Melissa Fuller, Erin Wedge Latuso, Michelle Roy, and Peyton Smith.