Recent Posts

August 5, 2019

FormanWatkins Welcomes New Associate to New Orleans Office

Trey is a recent graduate from Loyola University New Orleans College of Law. During law school, he was on the Moot Court Board (2017-2019) and the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Team (2018), a Law Review Candidate, an Academic Adviser for the Black Law Students Association, and a Louis A. Martinet Legal Society Scholarship recipient.

July 31, 2019

Defense Verdict in Santa Fe, New Mexico

A FormanWatkins trial team consisting of Peter Moir, Tim Gray, and Margaret McLaughlin just obtained a defense verdict in Santa Fe, New Mexico.  The case involved a claim that an equipment manufacturer supplied asbestos-containing components in equipment it provided to a copper mine and that the components caused the mesothelioma and subsequent death of a mine employee. 

July 29, 2019

FormanWatkins Co-Hosts and Volunteers at Local Pro Se Legal Clinic

On Friday, July 26, 2019, attorneys and summer clerks from our Jackson office were among those who volunteered at the Hinds County Family Law and Expungement Clinic, a pro se legal clinic held at the Hinds County Chancery Courthouse. The clinic assisted individuals with a variety of legal matters, including uncontested ID divorces, uncontested guardianships, uncontested emancipations, custody changes, name changes/birth certificate corrections, simple wills, and felony and misdemeanor expungements.

July 26, 2019

FormanWatkins Selected as One of the Best Places to Work in Mississippi in 2019

FormanWatkins is excited to announce our selection as one of the Best Places to Work in Mississippi for 2019, as voted on by our very own employees. Our team in Jackson and the culture we foster are extremely important to the Firm, and seeing this come to light with this recognition is truly an honor.

July 25, 2019

McMinn Appointed to Mississippi Bar Child Welfare and Child Advocacy Committee

FormanWatkins is proud to announce that Alison McMinn has been appointed to the Mississippi Bar Child Welfare and Child Advocacy Committee by new Mississippi Bar President Amanda Tollison! The Committee will provide a forum and home for attorneys who practice in varying aspects of child welfare/juvenile law practice related to children and will work closely with and assist the Young Lawyer’s Division’s Child Advocacy Committee in its endeavors and activities. Congratulations, Alison!

July 25, 2019

Wilson Selected as One of Mississippi’s 50 Leading Businesswomen for 2019

Forman Watkins & Krutz LLP is proud to announce that Malissa Wilson has been chosen as one of the 50 Leading Business Women in Mississippi by the Mississippi Business Journal! A special 2-day retreat was recently held by MBJ and their sponsors, Regions Bank and Mississippi Economic Council, at Hinds Eagle Ridge, where the women enjoyed great networking opportunities, seminars, and a luncheon.

July 23, 2019

Ritchie Appointed to Mississippi Bar Professionalism Committee

FormanWatkins is proud to announce that Spencer Ritchie has been appointed by new Mississippi Bar President Amanda Tollison to the Mississippi Bar Professionalism Committee! The Committee is responsible for monitoring/studying developments in the area of professionalism and making recommendations to the Mississippi Bar’s Board of Commissioners. The Committee also makes recommendations to the Board regarding programs to improve client/attorney relations, the image of the profession, and the quality of life of lawyers as they relate to professionalism.

July 1, 2019

Kapoor and White Win Pro Bono Criminal Trial

Jackson associates Sam Kapoor and Taylor White recently won a criminal trial in the youth court of Lafayette County, Mississippi.  Kapoor and White represented a minor charged with simple assault by threat.  After Kapoor and White put on the Youth Defendant’s case-in-chief, which involved the cross-examination of the victim, two police officers, and a detective, the Defense moved the Court for a directed verdict.  Finding the State failed to present sufficient evidence of subjective fear, an essential element of the charge of simple assault by threat, the Court granted their motion and directed a verdict in favor of the Youth Defendant.